Work and Progress

January 8, 2011

Rolling City a graphic short in block prints Vol.4: BANZAI!

As children, we grew up having way more physical activity then any of the kids today. There weren’t government laws that neglected the importance of physical activity in my time. The kids in my neighborhood also weren’t confined by a picket fence or a treehouse. No way Jack! My backyard was the city, and as a kid I always had healthy outlets to keep me busy.

As long as my mom felt like I was staying out of trouble.  Questions like, “What are you up to?” and “Where you going?” were easy to answer when you had a skateboard in your hand.


My board provided me with all that I needed: transportation, shelter, even a weapon, if I was so inclined. It was my Swiss Army knife, and at times I needed to use it.

Don’t get me wrong. It can be a jungle in the city and it was!

Stray dogs, pimps, pushers,

drug addicts, the occasional backyard rooster,

even just regular people with bad timing, could be trouble.

(The truck slows)

Of all the jungle beast, the worst were bullies.
If you’re guessing that I got my ass kicked a lot, you’re right. Falls, beatings, bruises, scabs, and scars. So many ass kickings  I couldn’t  keep count.

But no wound hurt more than when I lost my first skateboard.

Now I can’t tell you that I recall what happened exactly, ’cause I was hit pretty hard, but this is how it played out in my mind:

I thought I saw Pat Morita behind the faint sound of a flute …. but ……

Really, I just remember …..

Seeing stars.

Text and original block-print Images © by Sergio Teran

Rolling City Vol.1

Rolling City Vol. 2

Rolling City vol.3

Rolling City Vol. 4

Rolling City Vol.5

2 Comments »

  1. sergio, this is great. are you going to do a book? wonderful prints. great story.

    Comment by peter zokosky — January 9, 2011 @ 5:10 am

    • Thanks Peter. Yeah that would be cool I have been printing them all by hand. I’d like to at least make some editions for each Vol. Been thinking of buying a press.Maybe a skate theme exhibition. Thanks for dropping by the blog.

      Comment by Work and Progress — January 9, 2011 @ 5:38 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

